Washington Marijuana Limitations >
Marijuana is legal in Washington for both medicinal and adult (recreational) use. Medical marijuana was legalized in 1998 with the passage of the Medical Use of Marijuana Act. The Act enabled patients with certain debilitating medical conditions to use marijuana as treatment and also afforded patients and caregivers legal protections in the state. Registration in the state medical marijuana program is voluntary in Washington. Registered patients can possess up to:
Medical marijuana patients entered in the state register can also cultivate up to 6 plants and possess up to 8 ounces from their plants in their domicile. Patients not entered into the state registry can grow up to 4 plants and possess up to 6 ounces of usable marijuana from their plants.
Initiative 502 - the Washington Marijuana Legalization and Regulation Initiative became law on December 6, 2012, and legalized adult-use marijuana in the state. The measure made it legal to produce, possess, deliver, and distribute marijuana in Washington. It legalized the sale of specific quantities of cannabis products to adults aged 21 years and above for their personal use and in private. It also established the system for regulating the production and sale of recreational marijuana in the state.
In Washington, adults 21 years and older can legally possess up to;
Individuals are only allowed to possess marijuana products and paraphernalia but can not cultivate marijuana plants in their private residence. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) licenses and regulates all marijuana-related activities in the state.
Can I Use Cannabis?
Yes, Washington allows residents above the age of 21 to legally use cannabis within a specified limit. Minors are not permitted to use cannabis in Washington. However, patients younger than 18 years old can have their parents or legal guardians register themselves and the patients as well. Medical patients must receive written certification from registered practitioners before applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy.
Although marijuana was a popular ingredient in many medicinal products sold openly in public pharmacies in the 19th century, by the 20th century it had been labelled a banned substance. Following the Mexican Revolution of 1910, Mexican immigrants flooded into the United States, introducing the recreational use of marijuana to American culture. The drug became associated with immigrants, and the fear and prejudice about the immigrants were also linked with marijuana. Anti-marijuana campaigners warned against the ravaging "marijuana menace", and terrible crimes were attributed to marijuana and the Mexicans who used it.
Amid the Great Depression, public and governmental concerns about marijuana escalated with a flurry of research linking the use of marijuana with violence, crime, and other socially deviant behaviors. By 1921, 29 states had banned marijuana. In 1937, the United States Congress passed the Marijuana Tax Act, effectively criminalizing marijuana and restricting the use of the drug. Possession of marijuana was restricted to individuals who paid an excise tax for certain authorized medical and industrial uses.
Marijuana is completely legalized in Washington as of 2021, as the state permits its use for medical purposes and by any adults over 21 years old for recreational purposes. The Medical Use of Marijuana Act established the use of marijuana as an alternative medical treatment for debilitating health conditions in the state in 1998. Adult-use marijuana was legalized in 2012 when 56% of the ballot supported the Marijuana Legalization and Regulation Initiative. Legal sales of weed to the public by recreational cannabis stores officially commenced on July 8, 2014. Washington was the first state to legalize recreational marijuana use and the second, after Colorado, to allow sales.
The Marijuana Legalization and Regulation Initiative (MLRI) empowered the Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB), formerly known as the Liquor Control Board, to regulate the Washington marijuana industry. The MLRI established a wide-ranging regulatory structure that licenses producers, processors, and retailers. It also established maximum quantities that persons in the state could legally possess. The passage of the Cannabis Patient Protection Act (CPPA) in 2015 subsumed the production and sales of medical marijuana into the same structure. The LCB now regulates the production and sales of medical marijuana, as well as recreational marijuana, in Washington. The CPPA was established to create standards for cannabis businesses pertaining to the production, possession, sales, and use of medical marijuana in the state.
In Washington, the legal sale of cannabis can only be to adults 21 years and above or persons with valid medical marijuana recognition cards. Only licensed cannabis stores are allowed to sell cannabis products and paraphernalia to the public. Cannabis is a federally illegal substance and most banks will not do business directly with cannabis operations because of possible federal government sanctions. As such, most cannabis transactions are in cash because securing merchant services to accept debit cards and online payments would be too costly. Some cannabis businesses in Washington might accept credit card and cashier check payments
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) regulates all cannabis sales in the state and issues licenses to cannabis retailers. Licensed cannabis retailers must purchase their products from either licensed producers or licensed processors in the state. Cannabis stores can sell to both recreational and medical users, but persons with valid medical marijuana cards are exempt from the 37% adult-use excise tax. Cannabis stores can not sell any other products on the premises and must have purchase limits to ensure their customers are not breaking the law. The following cannabis products are legal for sale in Washington:
Washington offers different types of licenses to state residents through the LCB. An applicant must be at least 21 years to qualify for a cannabis business license in Washington. The applicant must also have been a legal resident for the prior six months and must maintain residency to retain the license.
There is a $250 fee for all new applications and a $1,381 fee for license renewals. A person can hold both producer and processor licenses, but they can not sell to the public directly (retail). A person with a retail license can not hold a producer or processor license. Persons can hold up to three types of licenses. The Municipal Research and Services Center (MRSC) prepared a list of applicable regulations for marijuana businesses and the government agencies responsible for enforcement. The Interagency Resource for Achieving Cooperation, alongside a partnership of Washington municipalities and industry representatives, also released a manual for the regulatory guidance for cannabis operations.
While marijuana is technically legal in Washington, it is still a controlled substance, and adults are legally required to carry specific amounts. Adults in possession of cannabis in quantities higher than the specified amount can be arrested and charged, based on the circumstances.
Washington adults aged 21 years and older, can possess up to 1 ounce (28.35g) of marijuana for private consumption. Public consumption of cannabis is a civil infraction and carries a maximum fine of $100. Possession of more than 1 ounce of cannabis, and up to 40g, is a misdemeanor punishable by a $1,000 fine and 24 hours to 90days jail time. Possession of over 40g of cannabis is a felony in Washington, with a fine of $10,000 and a maximum jail time of 5 years. Medical marijuana patients can legally possess up to 3 ounces (85g) of cannabis but must be able to show valid registration IDs.
The sales and distribution of cannabis in Washington without the requisite license is illegal. Unlicensed sales or distribution of any amount of marijuana in Washington is a felony, punishable by a $10,000 fine and a maximum jail time of 5 years. If the sale is to a minor, at least 3 years younger than the offender, the fine is $10,000, but maximum jail time increases to 10 years.
The cultivation or production of marijuana without a license from the Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) is prohibited. This is a felony and carries a $10,000 fine and a maximum 5-year jail term. This also applies to unlicensed cannabis processors. Medical marijuana patients (or their caregivers) are legally permitted to cultivate up to 6 plants in their private residence. Marijuana cultivation by private individuals is only allowed for medical use, and recreational users can not grow marijuana legally.
Fines and jail terms may be doubled if any of these activities are carried out within any designated drug-free zones. These include public parks, public transportation, public housing projects specified as drug-free zones, and within 1000 feet of a school or school bus stop.
Hash or concentrate is a highly potent cannabis extract that is basically a concentrated mass of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) or CBD (cannabidiol). THC levels in hash or concentrates can typically range from 40 - 80%, with some concentrates reportedly containing as much as 99.58% THC. Adult users are legally allowed to possess up to 7g of marijuana concentrate in Washington, while valid medical marijuana patients can possess up to 21g. Possession of more than these quantities is a civil infraction, punishable by a $100 fine.
Possession of over 40g of hash or concentrates is a felony in Washington, punishable by a $10,000 fine and up to 5 years in jail. The unlawful manufacture, sale, and delivery of hash and concentrates is also a felony with a 5-year jail term and a $10,000 fine.
Adults, 21 and over, and patients with valid registry ID cards can obtain marijuana and gift it to other adults in the state. This is provided the quantities involved do not exceed the legal limits for recreational and medical marijuana in the state. Marijuana gifts that exceed either recreational (28.35g) or medical (85g) limits can result in a $10,000 fine and a 5-year jail term.
Adults and MMJ patients in Washington can transport legal quantities of marijuana within the state, but transportation across state lines is prohibited. This includes sending marijuana through the mail to out-of-state recipients, and both the sender and recipient may be liable for criminal charges in both states. Cannabis must be transported in a sealed container or the trunk of the user's vehicle. Also, it is a federal crime to transport marijuana out of state, as it is still a schedule 1 controlled substance under federal law.
It is illegal for the driver or passenger to use cannabis inside a motor vehicle, even if the vehicle is parked. The legal threshold for THC in a driver's blood in Washington is five nanograms per millimeter (5ng/mm). According to state law, consent to a breath or blood test by any person operating a motor vehicle in Washington is required. As such, any person who operates a motor vehicle is deemed to have given consent to a breath or blood test. This is to determine their blood alcohol concentration or the presence of any drugs that can impair their ability to handle machinery. Penalties for cannabis DUIDs are:
Second Offense (within 7 years)
Third or Fourth Offense (within 7 years)
Washington State, like most of the states in the United States, criminalized marijuana in the 1920s. House Bill 3 of 1923, passed by the state legislature, defined cannabis as a narcotic drug largely because of its association with Mexican-American immigrants. This effectively prohibited the sale and possession of marijuana in the state. In 1971, the Washington state legislature reduced the possession of 40g of cannabis to a misdemeanor and no longer labeled it an opiate or narcotic. Marijuana was still illegal as it was a schedule 1 drug under the Washington Uniform Controlled Substance Act. This implied that it was considered to have a high potential for abuse and no currently accepted medical use.
The Washington Court of Appeals made a landmark decision in 1979 when it recognized that a medical defense existed for the possession of marijuana. It, however, stated that this was limited to specific cases, such as in State v. Diana. In the 1990s, due to the difficulty in obtaining cannabis for medical use, buyers clubs and co-operatives began providing cannabis to local patients. Law enforcement's targeting of these co-operatives led to a Tacoma attorney filing a suit to reschedule marijuana as a Schedule II drug in the state. Rescheduling would enable physicians in the state to prescribe marijuana as medication to patients. While a Superior Court judge ruled in favor of the suit, the State Supreme Court overturned the decision.
As a direct consequence of the Supreme Court's ruling, physician Robert Killian sponsored two ballot initiatives to legalize marijuana for medical use effectively. Initiative 685, which sought to enable physicians in the state to prescribe Schedule I drugs, failed with 60.4% of the ballot against, in 1997. However, Initiative 692, which legalized medical marijuana in the state, passed with 59% of the ballot in 1998. This allowed patients in the state with debilitating medical conditions to use marijuana as an alternative medical treatment on the recommendation of a physician.
Marijuana was legalized for adult use in 2012 when Initiative 502 passed with 55.7% on the ballot in the state. This enabled adults in Washington, 21 years and older, to possess up to one ounce of marijuana in the state. The marijuana may be purchased from any of the state-licensed cannabis stores. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) regulates all recreational and medical marijuana products that pass through the system.
In 2015, the Washington legislature passed the Cannabis Patient Protection Act (CPPA) and the Marijuana Taxation Reform bill. The CPPA provisioned the regulation of the medical marijuana industry and brought it under the auspices of the WSLCB. The Marijuana Taxation Reform amended the taxation rules in the marijuana industry in the state.
Cannabis can be legally purchased from licensed cannabis stores in Washington, but only up to specific quantities. It is prohibited for adults or MMJ patients to possess marijuana in quantities that exceed the stipulated amounts for each category of user. Some other restrictions on the use of cannabis in Washington include;