Yes, possession of marijuana is legal for medical and recreational purposes in Washington. In 1998 Washington voters approved Initiative 692 (I-692) to legalize medical marijuana, and the Washington State Medical Use of Marijuana Act was enacted to permit the use of marijuana to treat qualifying medical conditions.
Medical marijuana patients registered in the voluntary Washington Medical Marijuana Database may possess up to 1.36 kilograms (48 ounces) of marijuana-infused products in solid form. They may also carry up to 6.1 kilograms (216 ounces) of marijuana-infused products in liquid form, 85 grams (3 ounces) of usable marijuana or 21 grams (0.7 ounces) of marijuana concentrates.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WLCB) regulates recreational and medical cannabis use in the state.
Possession of marijuana for medical and recreational purposes is legal in Washington. However, the law limits its possession. Erring individuals will face marijuana possession penalties. The amount of marijuana that becomes a felony depends on the quantity and aggravating factors like giving minors marijuana.
Washington operates a first-time offender waiver rule for most offenses, including marijuana possession. The rule helps to reduce the penalties for first-time felony convictions.
Adults aged 21 years and older can buy weed from licensed marijuana retailers in Washington. The Washington Department of Health (DOH) maintains a list of approved medically-endorsed marijuana stores on its website.
Medical marijuana patients and caregivers (designated providers) can buy marijuana from licensed medically-endorsed marijuana stores. Patients must be 18 years and older to purchase medical marijuana from the stores.
Eligible persons can purchase no more than:
You must be 21 years or older to purchase weed from licensed marijuana stores in Washington. It is illegal to allow persons under 21 years on the premises of marijuana stores. However, persons aged 18 years and above who have authorization letters from health care practitioners or have been registered in the Washington Medical Marijuana Database can purchase marijuana from medically-endorsed marijuana stores. Patients under 18 years cannot buy marijuana by themselves, their designated providers must help them purchase it.
The Washington adult-use marijuana law permits adults aged 21 years and above to possess one of the following amounts of marijuana:
The Washington State Medical Marijuana Act stipulates the following marijuana possession limits for medical marijuana patients and their designated providers:
Persons under 21 years of age (minors) are prohibited from possessing or using marijuana in Washington, except they are medical marijuana patients. A minor caught with marijuana or marijuana-infused products without a medical practitioner’s authorization letter or medical marijuana identification card commits a misdemeanor.
Penalties for minor-in-possession charges are up to 364 days imprisonment and $5,000 in fines. Furthermore, their driving licenses can be suspended for up to two years. However, the court may reduce the penalty or only issue fines and drug education.
Typically, first-time minor offenders get lesser sentences. The court may issue $250 fines and revoke their driving licenses for 12 months or until they reach 17 years old. Subsequent convictions double the punishments.
Zero or up to 15 plants, depending on the individual’s status. In Washington, growing marijuana in homes for recreational use is illegal. It is a felony offense to cultivate any amount of weed at home and is punishable with up to five years of incarceration and a $10,000 fine.
However, medical marijuana patients and their designated providers are allowed to cultivate marijuana. A medical marijuana patient or designated provider registered on the voluntary Washington Medical Marijuana Database and with a valid registry identification card can grow up to six marijuana plants for the qualifying patient’s medical use.
Marijuana is illegal at the federal level and is classified as a Schedule I substance with a high potential for abuse. Therefore, it is illegal to travel out of Washington with marijuana either for recreational or medical purposes. All airports in the state prohibit marijuana on their premises.
It is legal to be high in public in Washington. Adults aged 21 years and above can consume and smoke marijuana on private properties in Washington. Also, minors who suffer from certain medical conditions and have authorization from medical practitioners can legally consume marijuana. However, using recreational marijuana in public is a civil violation in Washington.
Marijuana DUI penalties include a minimum sentence of at least 24 hours in prison and up to 364 days imprisonment. In addition, the court can suspend the offender’s driver's license for at least 90 days and impose fines of between $990.50 and $5,000. There is also a mandatory minimum payment of $200 as compensation to the state for the drug test. It is illegal to have an open marijuana container in a car while driving is illegal. Neither drivers nor passengers can open any marijuana packaging even if the vehicle is stationary.