Yes. The provisions of Washington Initiative Measure I-502 mandate licensing for cannabis producers in the state. Under Washington state laws, cannabis producer licenses allow licensees to produce, cure, trim, harvest, dry, and package marijuana and wholesale to marijuana processor licensees and other marijuana producer license holders. As stipulated by Measure I-502, the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) is responsible for issuing and regulating the activities of cannabis producer licensees.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board issues various cannabis license types to cannabis businesses. These include producer license, processor license, retail license, transport license, and research license. However, it does not issue any licenses bundling the cannabis producer license with any other type of cannabis license.
The Washington Administrative Code Title 314 Chapter 55-075 classifies marijuana producer licenses based on the amount of space used for marijuana production. Marijuana producer licensees must adhere to the approved production space as stipulated in their operation plan.
There are three types of marijuana producer licenses in Washington based on the square footage designated as a plant canopy. These are:
Under Washington Administrative Code 314-55-075, a licensee may not grow marijuana beyond the designated square footage approved by the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB). Following the approval of production space, the licensee is expected to use up to 50% of the production space approved for plant canopy in their operation plan within the first year of operation. If the licensee fails to achieve this, the LCB will reduce their square footage designated to plant canopy. Similarly, if the total amount of marijuana production exceeds the maximum square feet, the LCB may reduce the licensee’s approved production square footage.
In Washington, marijuana producer licensees may produce and sell:
According to Washington Initiative Measure I-502, only licensed marijuana producers may grow marijuana commercially in the state. Per the Washington Administrative Code 314-55-075, a marijuana producer can employ adults 21 years or older who must be residents of the state. Such persons must pass a criminal history background check before working on a marijuana farm. Individuals who work on marijuana farms do not need a special permit to work.
Washington Revised Code 69.51A.040 permits qualifying patients and caregivers with medical marijuana authorization to grow medical marijuana for personal use. However, an individual can only grow four marijuana plants and no more than 15 marijuana plants for a household with multiple registered patients. Such marijuana plants must be grown out of public view.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) issues licenses for marijuana business activities in the state. Applicants for a marijuana producer license must be 21 years or older to be approved for a cannabis producer license. WAC 314-55-020 requires that all marijuana producer licenses be issued in the name of the applicant.
Per Washington Revised Code 69.50.331, marijuana licenses are issued to:
To apply for a cannabis producer license, an applicant must submit the following documents to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board.
The license applicant will submit these documents together with a Business License Application Form provided by the Washington’s Department of Revenue and submit them via mail to:
Business Licensing Service
P.O. Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034
After that, successful applicants will receive an electronic billing statement from the Washington State Liquor and License Board requesting payment for the licensing fee. The LCB will schedule an inspection of applicants’ facilities once they confirm payment. They will then be required to pay an application fee together with an annual fee for license issuance and renewal. Cannabis producers must obtain separate licenses for each location they intend to operate.
As stipulated in Washington Administrative Code Title 314 Chapter 55-075, the application fee for a marijuana producer license is $250. This amount is exclusive of fees paid to the approved vendor for fingerprint evaluation as vendor fees vary. The annual fee for obtaining and renewing a marijuana producer license is $1,381.
Per Washington Administrative Code Title 314 Chapter 55-075, a licensed marijuana producer may not be interested in a marijuana retailer business. However, they may hold a marijuana processor license.