Yes. There are marijuana dispensaries in the City of Spokane Valley as permitted under Chapter 19.85 of the Spokane Valley Municipal Code.
Yes. There are medical marijuana dispensaries in the city established pursuant to the medical marijuana legalization act in Washington - Washington Medical Use of Marijuana Act of 1998.
Yes. You can purchase cannabis online in Spokane Valley. However, under state law, marijuana delivery is illegal. Therefore, you may pick up your order in-store or curbside.
When visiting a marijuana dispensary in Spokane Valley, keep the following in mind:
You must be 21 or older and have a valid government-issued ID to enter the dispensary. If you are purchasing medical cannabis, a medical cannabis registration with the State of Washington is required
The dispensary will have a wide range of products, such as flower, edibles, concentrates, and topical cannabis products
Dispensaries will generally have a menu of products available, which you can view on-site or online prior to visiting
The staff at the dispensary will be knowledgeable about the products and can help you find the right one for your needs
You may need to wait in line depending on the traffic at the dispensary
The prices for marijuana products will vary depending on the dispensary, product, strain, and quantity purchased
The dispensary will have a limit on the amount of marijuana that can be purchased per transaction
Marijuana consumption is not allowed on the dispensary premises.
Cannabis dispensaries are permitted to operate in the City of Spokane Valley. However, such establishments may not be located in certain places in the city. A dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of the centennial trail, appleway trail, vacant or undeveloped parcels owned by the city or public library districts, and a city hall. Dispensaries may only sell cannabis to persons with valid medical marijuana cards or those who can present valid IDs proving they are 21 or older. Sales at dispensaries are required to be tracked and no buyer may be permitted to buy more cannabis than stated under Washington laws. Dispensaries are required to ensure that no consumption may occur on-site.
The laws surrounding recreational cannabis use in Spokane Valley are based on the guidelines set forth by Initiative 502, approved by voters in Washington state in 2013. In accordance with I-502, adults of legal age (21 years or older) in Spokane Valley are allowed to possess a specific amount of marijuana and cannabis products. Individuals can possess up to one ounce of marijuana flower and 7 grams of cannabis in concentrated form. Possession of more than one ounce and up to 40 grams is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of three months imprisonment and a fine of $1,000.
Individuals under the age of 21 are prohibited from possessing, selling, or distributing cannabis, cannabis-infused products, or cannabis concentrates, regardless of their THC concentration. However, this does not apply to individuals who have valid authorizations as qualifying patients. Additionally, it is illegal to cultivate cannabis in one's own home.
Driving while under the influence of cannabis is also prohibited and is considered a criminal offense. According to state law, the legal limit for THC in the bloodstream while driving is five nanograms per milliliter of blood. Note that while consumers can have cannabis in their vehicles, cannabis must be kept in sealed containers or the car's trunk. It is illegal to transport any open container or package of marijuana or marijuana-infused products.
Cannabis use is illegal in public places and on federal lands. Additionally, gifting or sharing cannabis is also considered unlawful.
The following are cannabis laws in Spokane Valley:
Initiative 692 (I-692), also known as the Medical Use of Marijuana Act, legalized the medical use of marijuana in Spokane Valley
I-692 allows patients with terminal illnesses, persistent pain, and other specific conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana
I-692 permits Spokane Valley residents of all ages to access marijuana as long as they have qualifying conditions
Under 18s can only access medicinal cannabis by designating adult caregivers to assist them in purchasing and administering medical cannabis products
Patients must complete registrations with the Washington Department of Health medical cannabis database before legally purchasing medical cannabis
Purchases are only legal when made at approved medical marijuana dispensaries licensed by the state
It is illegal to ship medical cannabis across state lines
Medical marijuana patients with valid medical cannabis registrations can possess up to 3 ounces of flower and 21 grams of cannabis concentrates or extracts per time
Patients who have opted to obtain Washington medicinal marijuana cards are permitted to cultivate up to four cannabis plants at home
Patients who have gotten specific authorization from their attending physicians may cultivate up to 15 marijuana plants and have up to 8 ounces of cannabis flower in dry form
Qualifying Spokane Valley patients registered in the Washington medical cannabis database are allowed to join a cooperative to grow their own plants
To obtain a medical marijuana card in Spokane Valley, consider the following steps:
Verify your Eligibility: Consult with a Washington-licensed healthcare professional to determine if your illness qualifies for medical marijuana use. The healthcare provider will issue an authorization document if your condition qualifies for medical marijuana use. The approved conditions for medical cannabis in Washington are:
Hepatitis C with debilitating nausea or pain
Crohn's disease with debilitating symptom
Traumatic brain injury
Epilepsy or other seizure disorders
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Chronic renal failures requiring hemodialysis
Gather the Required Documents: Your authorization document and a valid Washington State identification card will be required.
Go to an Approved Store: Visit a medically endorsed cannabis retail store and make an appointment with the on-site medical marijuana consultant. Check the Medically Endorsed Stores List on the website of the WSLCB to find nearby medically endorsed cannabis stores.
Complete an Application: Fill out an application for a medical marijuana card with the on-site consultant. If the consultant accepts your application, your information will be uploaded to the medical marijuana database for the state of Washington.
Pay the Required Fee: Pay the fee for the medical marijuana card, which will likely cost between $1 and $10.
You may consume cannabis in a private home in Spokane Valley with the property owner's permission. Cannabis use is illegal outdoors and in public places.
You can buy cannabis by visiting a Spokane Valley dispensary licensed by the state. You can find their addresses online using the search terms "cannabis dispensaries near me" or "Spokane Valley dispensaries near me." You need a government-issued photo ID showing you are 21 or older to purchase adult-use cannabis.
One gram of cannabis extracts costs between $25 and $35, while a gram of pre-rolls costs about $11.
Popular cannabis strains in Spokane Valley include:
Ice Cream Cake
Gorilla Glue #4
No. Smoking cannabis in public places is unlawful.
Spokane Valley adults aged 21 or older can possess the following:
1 ounce of marijuana
16 ounces of edibles
72 ounces of marijuana products in liquid forms
7 grams of extracts or concentrated cannabis
Registered patients can possess the following:
3 ounces of cannabis
216 ounces of marijuana products in liquid forms
48 ounces of edibles
21 grams of extracts
4 marijuana plants
No. Shipping cannabis across state lines in Spokane Valley is illegal.
Yes. You can order cannabis online, but cannabis delivery is illegal. To receive your order, visit the dispensary for a curbside or in-store pickup.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Spokane Valley.
Yes. Tourists may use recreational dispensaries in the city if they can legally prove that they are 21 or older. Medical marijuana dispensaries in the city are only available to Spokane Valley or Washington residents.
You need a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license or passport, to show you are 21 or older to visit adult-use dispensaries in Spokane Valley. You also need a medical marijuana card for medical marijuana purchases.
Locals Canna House and Treehouse Club are two of the best cannabis dispensaries in Spokane Valley.
Yes. To ensure that you are of legal age and identity to purchase cannabis, your ID will be scanned at a Spokane Valley dispensary.
While there are no official sources on the number of adult-use dispensaries in the city, there are at least seven adult-use dispensaries and one medical marijuana dispensary in Spokane Valley.
Spokane Valley dispensaries typically accept cash.
You can visit as many dispensaries as you want in a day.
No. Spokane Valley dispensaries do not take health insurance.
Yes. Spokane Valley dispensaries track weed purchases in compliance with state law.
You cannot enter an adult-use cannabis dispensary at 18. You must be 21 or older to enter a Spokane Valley recreational cannabis dispensary.
The WSLCB (Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board) regulates cannabis in the Spokane Valley. The agency is located at:
Union Tower building
1025 Union Avenue SE
Olympia, WA 98501
Phone: (360) 664-1600
The Washington State Department of Health is responsible for overseeing the operations of medicinal cannabis within the city. To locate the addresses and contact information of the state health department, visit the contact section of the Washington State Department of Health's website.
You may report illegal cannabis operations in Spokane Valley to the Enforcement Division of the Liquor and Cannabis Board. You may also report to the Spokane Valley Police Department by contacting the PD at (509) 456-2233. For illegal activities related to medical cannabis, contact the state Department of Health by phone at (360) 236-4700.