Yes. While a few marijuana dispensaries have been licensed in Richland, only one currently operates, serving both medical and recreational cannabis users in the city. The sale of recreational cannabis began in Washington after voters approved Initiative Measure No. 502 (I-502) to legalize adult-use cannabis in 2012. Following its approval, I-502 established weed dispensaries across the state, including Richland, to facilitate the legal sales of marijuana to adults 21 years and over.
Yes, there is a medical cannabis dispensary in Richland. Washington voters' approval of the Washington State Medical Use of Marijuana Act, also known as Initiative 692 (I-692), in 1998 created the framework for establishing medical marijuana dispensaries in the state. I-692 made medical marijuana legal for persons with certain debilitating conditions in the state.
Under Washington laws, the owner of a licensed recreational cannabis dispensary may add a medical endorsement to their active adult-use dispensary license in order to sell medical cannabis. Recreational weed dispensaries with such endorsements are called medically-endorsed approved stores, and they can sell marijuana products to recreational and medical cannabis users.
Yes. However, cannabis products purchased online in Richland must be picked up at the dispensary's location due to Washington’s prohibition of cannabis delivery anywhere in the state. The only active marijuana dispensary in Richland takes online orders from its website. Marijuana consumers in the city can buy cannabis products online in different forms like vapes, extracts, flowers, pre-rolls, topicals, and edibles. The weed dispensary in Richland offers walk-up window and curbside deliveries for marijuana products bought online.
Washington State regulations do not differentiate between adult-use and medical marijuana products. Nonetheless, cannabis patients are encouraged to buy cannabis products that meet the requirements of the state's Department of Health (DOH) when visiting the medically-endorsed store in Richland. Patients between the ages of 18 and 20 must present their Washington-issued medical marijuana cards when they arrive at the dispensary. Otherwise, they cannot buy cannabis products at the medically-endorsed store in Richland. On the other hand, recreational consumers must bring valid IDs bearing their age and photo to the dispensary. Additionally, customers are advised to come to the dispensary with cash for the marijuana products they order.
Marijuana dispensaries licensed by the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) in Richland must comply with the following dispensary laws:
No marijuana dispensary may be situated within 1,000 feet of any daycare center, recreational center, public park, or playground
Marijuana dispensaries must not permit the consumption of cannabis on their premises
Dispensaries in Richland are prohibited from selling marijuana to persons under 21 unless they present valid Washington-issued medical marijuana cards. Similarly, no employees of any dispensary may be under 21
Weed products sold by dispensaries must be displayed in a way that is not visible to the public
The following laws apply to recreational marijuana use in Richard:
Individuals aged 21 and older may legally possess and use cannabis for recreational purposes in Richland
Washington law prohibits the home growing of cannabis for recreational use. Hence. It is unlawful for any recreational consumer to cultivate marijuana at home for personal use in Richland
Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis is prohibited
The consumption of marijuana in public is illegal. Similarly, it is prohibited for anyone to open a package containing cannabis in public
It is illegal to take cannabis out of Richand across state lines
Medical marijuana is legal for Richland residents living with certain debilitating medical conditions. While personal marijuana home cultivation remains prohibited under Washington State marijuana laws, RCW 69.51A.260 permits a qualifying patient in Richland with authorization to cultivate up to four marijuana plants at home for personal use. If registered in the Medical Cannabis Authorization Database and has a Washington State-issued medical marijuana card, a qualifying patient may cultivate between six and 15 marijuana plants at home, based on their physician's recommendation.
Enrolling in the Washington Medical Cannabis Authorization Database for the state's medical marijuana card is voluntary unless a patient is younger than 18. However, joining the database has many benefits, including protection from arrest and buying any cannabis product sales and use tax-free at medically endorsed retail stores. Patients with qualifying medical conditions in Richland can get a Washington medical marijuana card, otherwise known as a medical recognition card, by following these steps:
Get approval for medical cannabis therapy by contacting an authorizer who is approved to issue a medical cannabis authorization
After obtaining medical cannabis authorization, visit the medically-endorsed retail store in Richland and ask to see the dispensary's certified medical cannabis consultant, who has experience working with authorized medical marijuana patients
During the consultation, the cannabis consultant will enter the patient's information into the Medical Cannabis Authorization Database, take their photo, and create their medical cannabis recognition card (medical marijuana card). The cardholder is required to pay a $1 at the dispensary, where it is remitted to the Washington Department of Health
Washington prohibits the consumption of marijuana in public, but cannabis users can consume marijuana in their private residences. However, a person living in a rented property must get clearance in their rental agreement to use marijuana on such a property.
Anyone aged 21 years and older can buy cannabis from the licensed marijuana dispensary in Richland once they present a valid government-issued photo ID. However, a medical recognition card is required for individuals under 18. Such patients must be suffering from eligible medical conditions for medical marijuana treatment and must have been authorized to use medicinal cannabis. If required, a registered patient can call the city's medically-endorsed retail store ahead of their visit to book an appointment with the dispensary's certified consultant.
In Richland, an ounce of marijuana costs between $205 and $230, depending on the grade and strain of cannabis
Marijuana consumers in Richland favor purchasing Purple Punch, Blue Dream, Original Glue, Green Crack, GC4, and Super Lemon, among other weed strains.
No. In compliance with the Washington Smoking in Public Places Law, no person may smoke marijuana in a public place in Richland.
Qualified medical marijuana patients in Richland may carry the following amounts of marijuana at once:
3 ounces of usable cannabis
8 ounces of solid-form marijuana-infused product
216 ounces of liquid-form marijuana-infused product
21 grams of marijuana concentrate
The cannabis possession limits for recreational marijuana consumers in the city are:
7 grams of cannabis concentrate
72 ounces of marijuana-infused products in liquid form
16 ounces of solid-form marijuana-infused products
1 ounce of usable marijuana
No, federal law outlaws transporting marijuana across state lines. Hence, it is unlawful to ship cannabis from another state into Richland. Richland residents may only use marijuana grown and processed in Washington.
Yes. Richland residents may order cannabis online from the city's only weed dispensary. However, they must visit the medically-endorsed store to pick up their orders.
No, there are no 24-hour marijuana dispensaries in Richland.
Yes. Under Washington marijuana laws, out-of-state visitors can use the medically-endorsed store in Richland but may only purchase adult-use cannabis.
Yes, any adult aged 21 or older must provide a valid photo ID to purchase cannabis at the licensed dispensary in Richland.
Richland has only one marijuana dispensary presently - Nirvana Cannabis Company.
The licensed weed dispensary in Richland scans consumers' IDs to verify their age, identity, and the IDs' authenticity.
As of April 2023, there is only one marijuana dispensary in Richland with an active license.
No, federal laws prohibit the cannabis dispensary in Richland from accepting credit card payments.
There is only one marijuana dispensary in Richland presently. However, consumers may visit the dispensary multiple times daily but must not exceed their purchase limit.
No, dispensaries in Richland do not take health insurance. It is unlawful for any insurance company to pay for medical cannabis patients' medical marijuana product purchases.
Yes, licensed cannabis dispensaries in Richland must track cannabis purchases using any track and sale system approved by Washington State.
Any cannabis patient aged 18 can enter a cannabis dispensary in Richland, provided they are authorized for medical marijuana and have the Washington medical marijuana card. A person must be at least 21 years old to purchase marijuana for recreational purposes in Richland.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) regulates cannabis in Richland and other parts of the state. Interested persons can reach them on the contact information available on their website.
The Enforcement Division of the WSLCB encourages Richland residents to report illegal cannabis activities within the city at (360) 664-9878. Alternatively, they may report incidents of criminal marijuana activities to the Investigations Division of the Richland Police Department at (509) 942-7517.